# Draft programme – as at 11 January 2008

# ICO MEETINGS (24 and 25 January 2008) PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

		I KC		
Thursday 24 Jan	uary	Room	Open to	
08.45 onwards	Registration	Council Lounge	ICO Members	Accreditation/registration of participants throughout the day
08.45 - 09.30	Briefing meeting	ED's office	Restricted	Chairmen and spokespersons only
09.45 – 13.00	Executive Board	Boardroom	ICO Members	<ol> <li>Draft Agenda and schedule of meetings</li> <li>Votes in the Council and Executive Board for coffee year 2007/08</li> <li>Membership of the ICA 2001</li> <li>Annual Review 2006/07</li> <li>Coffee market situation</li> <li>Coffee development projects</li> <li>Projects under consideration by the CFC</li> <li>Projects under consideration by the ICO</li> <li>Seminar on geographical indicators</li> <li>Implementation of the CQP</li> <li>Promotion</li> <li>Presentation: ICO network to promote coffee consumption (Mr Carlos Brando, P&amp;A Marketing International: 20 min)</li> </ol>
13.00 - 14.30	Lunch break			
14.30 - 17.00	Executive Board	Boardroom	ICO Members	<ol> <li>Phytosanitary matters</li> <li>Cooperation with other organizations</li> <li>Financial and administrative matters</li> <li>Financial situation</li> <li>Administrative Accounts of the Organization for the financial year 2006/07 and Report of the Auditors</li> <li>Payment of arrears</li> <li>Other financial and administrative matters</li> <li>Other business</li> <li>Future meetings</li> </ol>
14.30 - 18.00	Informal project meetings	Committee Room	ICO staff and project participants	If required
Friday 25 Janua	ry	Room	Open to	
09.00 - 09.30	Briefing meeting	ED's office	Restricted	Chairmen and spokespersons (if required)
09.45 – 13.00	Council	Council chamber	ICO Members and observers	<ol> <li>Draft Agenda</li> <li>Admission of observers</li> <li>Votes and credentials</li> <li>Votes in the Council for coffee year 2007/08</li> <li>Credentials</li> <li>International Coffee Agreement (ICA) 2007</li> <li>Depositary of the ICA 2007</li> <li>Procedures for membership</li> <li>Preparations for the implementation of the ICA 2007</li> <li>S<sup>rd</sup> World Coffee Conference</li> <li>Financial and administrative matters</li> <li>Administrative Accounts of the Organization for the financial year 2006/07 and Report of the Auditors</li> <li>Other financial and administrative matters</li> <li>Other business</li> <li>Signing of Project Agreement: Access to Finance for th Development of Diversification Crops in Coffee Producing Area (Burundi and Côte d'Ivoire)</li> <li>Future meetings</li> </ol>
13.00 - 13.30	Press conference	Committee Room	Press	The Executive Director and some Heads of Delegation will brief th press on the outcome of discussions during the week.

#### Notes:

1. There will be one team of interpreters on 24 and 25 January. Interpretation facilities are <u>not</u> available in the Committee Room.

2. Annex I lists office holders and the composition of ICO bodies for 2007/08.

# ANNEX I

## LIST OF OFFICE HOLDERS FOR COFFEE YEAR 2007/08

#### International Coffee Council (2007/08)

Chairman: Mr G.V. Krishna Rau (India)  $\blacksquare$  1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chairman: Mr Iván Romero (Honduras)  $\blacksquare$  2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairman: Mr Manuel Altimira (Spain)  $\blacksquare$  3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairman: no nomination

## Executive Board (2007/08)

Chairman: Mr David Brooks (USA) ■ Vice-Chairman: Mr Jindrich Fialka (Czech Republic)

*Exporting Members:* Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea *Importing Members:* European Community (EC, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Spain), Japan, Switzerland, United States of America

# Private Sector Consultative Board (PSCB) (2007/08 and 2008/09)

Chairman: Mr Christian Rasch Topke (ANACAFE) Vice-Chairperson: Ms Florence Rossillion (ECF)

## **Producer representatives** (alternates in italics)

<u>Colombian Milds</u>: Asociación de Exportadores de Café de Colombia (ASOEXPORT), Sociedad Exportadora de Café de las Cooperativas de Caficultores (EXPOCAFE), Federación Nacional de Cafeteros de Colombia, Eastern African Fine Coffees Association (EAFCA)

<u>Other Milds</u>: Asociación Mexicana de la Cadena Productiva del Café (AMECAFE), *Instituto Hondureño del Café (IHCAFE)*, Asociación Nacional del Café (ANACAFÉ), *Coffee Exporters Association of India* 

<u>Brazilian and other Natural Arabicas</u>: Conselho dos Exportadores de Café do Brasil (CeCafé), Associação Brasileira da Indústria de Café Solúvel (ABICS), Associação Brasileira da Indústria de Café (ABIC), Conselho Nacional do Café (CNC), Confederação da Agricultura e Pecuária do Brasil (CNA)</u>

<u>Robustas</u>: Association of Indonesian Coffee Exporters (AEKI), *Uganda Coffee Trade Federation (UCTF)*, Bourse du Café et du Cacao (BCC)

## **Consumer representatives** (alternates in italics)

All Japan Coffee Association (AJCA), European Coffee Federation (ECF), (ECF), ECF, (ECF), ECF, (ECF), Institute for Scientific Information on Coffee (ISIC), *ISIC*, National Coffee Association of USA (NCA), *Coffee Association of Canada*, Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA), Speciality Coffee Association of Europe (SCAE), *European Decaffeinators Association (EDA)* 

# **Promotion Committee**

Chairman: Dr Ernesto Illy (ISIC) ■ Vice-Chairman: Mr Mick Wheeler (Papua New Guinea)

# Steering Group on Promotion (2006/07 – 2007/08)

Chairman: Executive Director ■ Vice-Chairman (2006/07): Mr Mick Wheeler (Papua New Guinea) ■ *Exporting Members:* Brazil, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Indonesia ■ *Importing Members:* France, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom *PSCB:* Chairman and Vice-Chairman ■ *Promotion Committee:* Chairman and Vice-Chairman ■ *ICO:* Executive Director

#### Statistics Committee (2006/07 – 2007/08)

Chairman: Mr Jaime Junqueira Payne (Brazil) ■ Vice-Chairman: Mr Neil Rosser ■ *Exporting Members:* Mr Jaime Junqueira Payne (Brazil), Ms Maria del Pilar Fernández (Colombia) ■ *Importing Members:* Mr Rob Simmons (LMC International Ltd, UK), Mr Neil Rosser (Neumann Kaffee Gruppe, Germany) ■ *Executive Director:* Mr David Brooks (USA), Mr Corneille Tabalo (D.R. Congo)

# Finance Committee (2006/07 – 2007/08)

Chairman: Mr Mick Wheeler (Papua New Guinea) ■ *Exporting Members:* Brazil, Colombia, Côte d'Ivoire, Papua New Guinea ■ *Importing Members:* EC – Spain, Japan, Switzerland, USA

## Virtual Screening Committee

Chairman: Executive Director **Exporting Members:** Brazil, Côte d'Ivoire, Guatemala, Indonesia **Importing Members:** Germany, Italy, USA