

PSC 2/17

1 March 2017 Original: English

Report of the Pre-Selection Committee meeting held on 28 February 2017

1. The Pre-Selection Committee chaired by Mr Felipe Robayo of Colombia, met in London, United Kingdom on 28 February 2017.

Item 1: Adoption of the Agenda

2. The Committee adopted the draft Agenda contained in document PSC-1/17 Rev. 2.

Item 2: Terms of reference for the position of Executive Director

3. At its 118th Special Session on 23 January 2017 in London, the Council approved the procedures, schedule and terms of reference for the appointment of an Executive Director. The Council also decided to form a Pre-Selection Committee, open to interested Members, to assess the applications for the post of Executive Director and to recommend to the Council no more than five candidates to present their candidacy to the Council during its Session from 13 to 17 March 2017.

Item 3: Review of candidates for the position of Executive Director

4. The following countries expressed their interest in participating in the Pre-Selection Committee: Brazil, Bolivia, Burundi, Cameroon, Colombia, Congo Democratic Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Ecuador, El Salvador, European Union, Honduras, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Russian Federation, Switzerland, Uganda, United States of America and Vietnam. Four countries (Burundi, Cameroon, Nicaragua and Uganda) were not able to participate in the meeting which took place on 28 February 2017. 5. The names of nine candidates endorsed by their respective Governments were submitted by the deadline of 23 February 2017:

- Bui Ba Bong (Vietnam)
- Ramaz Chanturiya (Russian Federation)
- Delima Hasri Darmawan (Indonesia)
- Dr Dumisani Kutywayo (Zimbabwe)
- Martin Bitijula Mahimba (Democratic Republic of Congo)
- Eduardo Montauban Urriaga (Peru)
- José Sette (Brazil)
- Rodolfo Trampe Taubert (Mexico)
- Remigi Winzap (Switzerland)

6. After reviewing the candidates' profiles the Committee noted that all nine candidates met the requirements set out in the terms of reference. In order to reach a consensus, members of the Committee were asked to select anonymously their preference for five candidates. As a result of the process a consensus was achieved and the following candidates were shortlisted:

- Delima Hasri Darmawan (Indonesia)
- Eduardo Montauban Urriaga (Peru)
- José Sette (Brazil)
- Rodolfo Trampe Taubert (Mexico)
- Remigi Winzap (Switzerland)

7. In the discussion afterwards, it was noted that the selection was not based on a geographical division between exporting and importing countries, or regional distribution, but on the basis of Members' assessment of the qualifications of the candidates.

Item 4: Other business

8. There being no further business, the Chairperson closed the meeting after thanking the participants for their valuable contribution and the Secretariat for its assistance.