

DN 135/18/ICA 2007

19 February 2018 Original: English

Е

INTERNATIONAL COFFEE AGREEMENT 2007 CONCLUDED IN LONDON, 28 SEPTEMBER 2007 OPPORTUNITY FOR DEPOSIT OF INSTRUMENTS 9 TO 13 APRIL 2018

The Executive Director of the International Coffee Organization (ICO), as the Chief Administrative Officer of the Depositary for the International Coffee Agreement (ICA) 2007, communicates the following:

The deadline for depositing instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession is 28 September 2018.

There will be an opportunity for deposit of instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, or notifications of provisional application, during the 121st Session of the International Coffee Council which will take place in Mexico City, Mexico from 9 to 13 April 2018.

Document <u>ED-2033/08 Rev. 13</u>, which includes model instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, is attached for information. The Annex shows the status of membership of the ICO under the ICA 2007. An updated report on membership can be found on the ICO website: http://www.ico.org/depositary_e.asp.

Attention: Treaty Services of Ministries of Foreign Affairs

International Coffee Organization 222 Gray's Inn Road London WC1X 8HB United Kingdom Tel: +44 (0) 20 7612 0600 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7612 0630

Website: www.ico.org

Email: depositary@ico.org

MEMBERSHIP OF THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE ORGANIZATION UNDER THE INTERNATIONAL COFFEE AGREEMENT 2007 AS AT 16 FEBRUARY 2018

		AS AT 10 FEDRUART 201						
	Date of signature	NOTIFICATION OF PROVISIONAL APPLICATION	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	DATE OF DEPOSIT OF INSTRUMENT	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE			
A. Countries which have completed all the required procedures								
Exporting Members (44)								
Angola	19 May 2008		Approval	22 September 2009	0.5			
Bolivia, Plurinational State of	16 June 2011	10 April 2012	Ratification	22 September 2014	0.6			
Brazil	19 May 2008		Ratification	2 February 2011	24.4			
Burundi	21 September 2009		Acceptance	21 September 2009	0.8			
Cameroon	23 May 2008		Ratification	17 September 2012	1.2			
Central African Republic	22 May 2008		Ratification	24 August 2010	0.5			
Colombia	20 May 2008	2 December 2008	Ratification	22 July 2015	10.0			
Congo, Dem. Rep. Of	23 September 2009		Ratification	14 December 2015	0.7			
Costa Rica	29 May 2008		Ratification	11 December 2009	1.8			
Côte d'Ivoire	18 July 2008		Approval	15 October 2008	2.6			
Cuba	29 August 2008		Ratification	4 December 2008	0.5			
Ecuador	30 September 2008		Ratification	30 September 2008	1.3			
El Salvador	25 June 2008		Ratification	4 December 2008	1.7			
Ethiopia	28 August 2008		Ratification	8 July 2010	2.8			
Gabon	22 July 2008		Acceptance	25 February 2009	0.5			
Ghana	11 July 2008		Ratification	17 August 2009	0.5			
Guatemala	29 August 2008		Ratification	23 March 2011	3.6			
Honduras	27 June 2008		Ratification	7 June 2010	2.9			
India	28 August 2008		Ratification	22 September 2008	3.6			
Indonesia	25 June 2008		Ratification	5 February 2009	5.5			
Kenya	22 May 2008		Ratification	22 May 2008	1.2			
Liberia	26 August 2008		Ratification	6 October 2009	n.a.			
Madagascar	25 September 2009		Ratification	26 November 2014	0.6			
Malawi	28 August 2008		Ratification	18 July 2012	0.5			
Mexico	23 June 2009		Ratification	8 April 2010	2.6			
Nepal	23 June 2003		Accession	17 March 2017	n.a.			
Nicaragua	19 March 2009		Ratification	12 August 2009	1.6			
Panama	1 July 2008		Ratification	12 March 2009	0.6			
Papua New Guinea	7 November 2008	6 November 2009	Ratification	16 December 2016	1.5			
Paraguay	27 September 2010	0 140 VEHIBEI 2003	Ratification	21 August 2013	0.5			
Peru	27 September 2010		Accession	14 December 2015	n.a.			
Philippines			Accession	29 March 2011	0.5			
Rwanda	18 July 2008		Ratification	17 May 2012	0.8			
Sierra Leone	10 July 2000		Accession	5 May 2011	n.a			
Tanzania	23 July 2008	22 September 2009	Ratification	21 September 2010	1.1			
Thailand	4 August 2009	22 September 2009	Ratification	4 August 2009	0.8			
Timor-Leste	19 August 2008		Ratification	5 January 2009	n.a.			
Togo	23 May 2008		Ratification	21 September 2010	0.6			
Uganda	21 September 2009		Ratification	1 March 2010	2.7			
Venezuela, Bolivarian Rep. of	21 September 2003		Accession	12 October 2017	0.6			
Vietnam	28 August 2008		Approval	28 August 2008	12.7			
Yemen	27 February 2008		Ratification	14 July 2010	n.a.			
Zambia	11 September 2009		Ratification	3 August 2011	0.6			
Zimbabwe	20 August 2009		Ratification	24 May 2012	0.6			
Total	20 August 2003		Natification	27 IVIGY 2012	96.1			
IVIAI					30.1			

	Date of signature	NOTIFICATION OF PROVISIONAL APPLICATION	TYPE OF INSTRUMENT DEPOSITED	DATE OF DEPOSIT OF INSTRUMENT	PERCENTAGE OF VOTES FOR THE PURPOSES OF ENTRY INTO FORCE
Importing Members (7)					
European Union	17 June 2008		Approval	17 June 2008	68.0
Austria					
Belgium					
Bulgaria					
Croatia					
Cyprus					
Czech Republic					
Denmark					
Estonia					
Finland					
France					
Germany					
Greece					
Hungary					
Ireland					
Italy					
Latvia					
Lithuania					
Luxembourg					
Malta					
Netherlands					
Poland					
Portugal					
Romania					
Slovakia					
Slovenia					
Spain					
Sweden					
United Kingdom					
Japan			Accession	23 July 2015	7.2
Norway	2 June 2010		Ratification	21 September 2010	1.2
Russian Federation			Accession	24 April 2015	n.a.
Switzerland	22 May 2008		Ratification	11 September 2009	1.8
Tunisia	5 October 2009		Ratification	21 September 2010	n.a.
United States of America	28 August 2008		Acceptance	28 August 2008	21.8
Total	2071484000 2000		receptance	207.486401.2000	100
Total					100
B. Countries which ha	ave signed the Agreement	but not completed the	he required proce	dures	
Exporting countries (3)					
Benin	23 September 2009				0.5
Guinea	2 July 2008				0.8
Nigeria	21 July 2008				0.5
Total					1.8

		Notici	CATION OF	Type of		PERCENTAGE OF				
			/ISIONAL	INSTRUMENT	DATE OF DEPOSIT OF	PURPOSES OF				
	DATE OF SIGNATURE	_	ICATION	DEPOSITED	INSTRUMENT	ENTRY INTO FORCE				
C. Countries which have	ve not signed the Agreen	nent								
Exporting countries (4)										
Congo, Rep.						0.5				
Dominican Republic						0.6				
Haiti						0.5				
Jamaica						0.5				
Total						2.1				
D. Countries which have withdrawn from the ICA 2007										
Turkey	28 August 2008			Ratification	28 March 2011	Withdrew on				
						12 February				
						2017				
E. Countries invited as	observers to attend the	98th Sessio	on of the Cou	ncil at which the I	CA 2007 was adopted					
Algeria	Fiji		Mozambique		Sudan	Sudan				
Argentina	Iceland	Myanmar			Syrian Arab Repub	Syrian Arab Republic				
Armenia	Iran, Islamic Republic o	of Nepal 1/			The former Yugosl	S				
Australia	Israel	New Zealand		d	Republic of Mace	Republic of Macedonia				
Belarus	Jordan		Oman		Timor-Leste 1/	•				
Belize	Korea, Republic of	public of			Trinidad and Toba	Trinidad and Tobago				
Botswana	Kuwait	uwait			Tunisia 1/	·				
Cambodia	Lao People's Dem. Rep.		Russian Federation 1/		Turkey 3/	, .				
Canada	Lebanon		Saudi Arabia Serbia		Ukraine					
Chile	Liberia 1/	iberia 1/			United Arab Emira	United Arab Emirates				
China, People's Republic of	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya			e 1/	Uruguay	.				
Croatia 2/	Malaysia	Singapore		Yemen 1/	Yemen 1/					
Egypt	Mauritius		South Africa							
Equatorial Guinea	Morocco		Sri Lanka							

n.a. = not applicable

Note: The percentage of votes for the purposes of entry into force is based on the initial distribution of votes for coffee year 2007/08: document EB-3934/07.

- 1/ Procedures for membership of the 2007 Agreement completed.
- 2/ Became a State member of the European Union on 1 July 2013 and as a consequence, procedures for membership of the 2007 Agreement have been completed.
- 3/ Turkey notified the ICO on 14 November of its intention to withdraw from the ICA 2007. The withdrawal of Turkey became effective 90 days after the notice was served, namely 12 February 2017.