

Council 228/12

1 August 2012 Original: English

INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZACIÓN INTERNACIONAL DEL CAFÉ ORGANIZAÇÃO INTERNACIONAL DO CAFÉ ORGANISATION INTERNATIONALE DU CAFÉ

International Coffee Council 109th Session 24 – 28 September 2012 London, United Kingdom

Appointment of office holders and **Committee representatives** for coffee year 2012/13

Background

- At its 109th Session, the Council will elect a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for 1. coffee year 2012/13. A list of Council office holders for the previous five coffee years is provided in Annex I.
- 2. The Council will also consider the composition of the following Committees for the next coffee year. The current composition is shown in Annex II.
 - Projects Committee (8 exporting, 3 importing Members)
 - Promotion and Market Development Committee (8 exporting, 3 importing Members)
 - Finance and Administration Committee (6 exporting, 4 importing Members)
 - Statistics Committee (8 exporting, 3 importing Members)
- In accordance with the terms of reference contained in document ICC-106-4, the 3. Committees will select their Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons from among the designated Members at the first meeting in coffee year 2012/13. As a general rule, these offices shall alternate each coffee year between the two categories of Members. Annex III contains a list of office holders appointed for the Committees for the previous two coffee years.

Action

The Council is requested to consider this document.

COUNCIL OFFICE HOLDERS

Under the 2007 Agreement which entered into force in February 2011, only a Chairperson and one Vice-Chairperson are appointed.

| | Chairperson | Vice-Chairperson(s) |
|---------|--------------------------------|---|
| 2007/08 | Mr G.V. Krishna Rau (India) | 1 st Vice-Chairperson: Mr Iván Romero (Honduras) 2 nd Vice-Chairperson: Mr Manuel Altimira (Spain) 3 rd Vice-Chairperson: no nomination |
| 2008/09 | Mr David Brooks (USA) | 1 st Vice-Chairperson: Mr Brendan Nevin (Ireland) 2 nd Vice-Chairperson: Mr Juan Lucas Restrepo (Colombia) 3 rd Vice-Chairperson: Mr Abdoulaye Nana (Cameroon) |
| 2009/10 | Mr Rodolfo Trampe (Mexico) | 1 st Vice-Chairperson: Mr Abdoulaye Nana (Cameroon) 2 nd and 3rd Vice-Chairpersons: no nomination |
| 2010/11 | Mr Ewald Wermuth (Netherlands) | Ms Christine Detaille (Belgium) |
| 2011/12 | Mr Henry Ngabirano (Uganda) | Mr David Braun (Switzerland) |
| 2012/13 | Importing Member | Exporting Member |

COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES

| Exporting Members | Projects Committee (8) | Promotion and Market Development Committee (8) | Finance and Administration Committee (6) | Statistics Committee (8) | Core Group (4) ¹ |
|----------------------|--|--|--|---|---|
| 2010/11 | Brazil Colombia Côte d'Ivoire Ecuador Guatemala India Indonesia Tanzania | Brazil Colombia Honduras India Indonesia Kenya Mexico Uganda | Brazil Colombia El Salvador Ghana India Vietnam | Angola Brazil Colombia Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Cuba India Indonesia | - |
| 2011/12 | Brazil Colombia Côte d'Ivoire Ecuador Guatemala India Indonesia Tanzania | Brazil Colombia Honduras India Indonesia Kenya Mexico Uganda | Brazil Colombia El Salvador Ghana India Vietnam | Angola Brazil Colombia Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire India Indonesia Panama | Brazil Colombia Côte d'Ivoire Mexico |
| 2012/13 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | Brazil Colombia Côte d'Ivoire Mexico |
| Importing Members | Projects Committee (3) | Promotion and Market Development Committee (3) | Finance and Administration Committee (4) | Statistics Committee (3) | Core Group (3) ¹ |
| 2010/11 | European Union Switzerland USA | European Union Switzerland USA | European Union European Union Switzerland USA | European Union Switzerland USA | - |
| 2011/12 | European Union Switzerland USA | European Union Switzerland USA | European Union Switzerland Turkey USA | European Union Switzerland USA | European Union Switzerland USA |
| 2012/13 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | To be appointed in September 2012 | European Union Switzerland USA |

¹ Members of the Core Group have been appointed for 2011/12 and 2012/13.

COMMITTEES – OFFICE HOLDERS

| | | Projects Committee | Promotion and Market Development Committee | Finance and Administration Committee | Statistics Committee | Consultative Forum/ Core Group |
|---------|-----------------------|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010/11 | Chairperson: | Ambassador José Ángel López Camposeco (Guatemala) | Mr Henry Ngabirano (Uganda) | Mr Damon DuBord (USA) | Ms Marcela Urueña (Colombia) | |
| | Vice- Chairperson: | Ms Amy Karpel (USA) | European Union | Mr Pablo Braga Costa Pereira (Brazil) | Mr David Braun (Switzerland) | |
| 2011/12 | Chairperson: | Ms Amy Karpel (USA) | Mr Andrea Illy (EU-Italy) ² | Mr Jawaid Akhtar (India) | Mr Patrice Moussy (EU) | Ms Amy Karpel (USA) ³ |
| | Vice- Chairperson: | Mr Aly Touré (Côte d'Ivoire) | Mr Rodolfo Trampe (Mexico) | Mr David Braun (Switzerland) | Mr José Cassule Mahinga (Angola) | Mr Rodolfo Trampe (Mexico) ³ |
| 2012/13 | Chairperson: | Exporting Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Exporting Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Importing Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Exporting Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | |
| | Vice- Chairperson: | Importing Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Importing Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Exporting Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | Importing Member – To be appointed in March 2013 | |

_

² The Promotion and Market Development Committee will consider the issue of Chairperson for 2012/13 at its meeting in September 2012.

³ The terms of reference for the Consultative Forum provide that the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson shall be appointed by the Council for a period of one year, which may be extended for a further year. The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Forum also serve as the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, respectively, of the Core Group, and were appointed in September 2011.