The Working Group on the Future of the International Coffee Agreement met for the third time on 21, 22 and 24 May 2007, chaired by Mr. Saint-Cyr Djikalou of Côte d'Ivoire. The Group, which was established by the Council in September 2006, has the mandate of examining the current Agreement which expires on 30 September 2007 and proposals submitted by Members or other invited parties, with the aim of submitting its recommendations to the Council in May 2007. The Group reviewed a draft text reflecting discussions at its meetings in January and March 2007. Following intensive discussions and consultations, the Group noted that although substantial progress had been made in drafting the text of a new International Coffee Agreement, further time was required to allow it to conclude its work.

The Council has therefore decided to extend the remit of the Working Group and the term of office of the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman until 30 September 2007. The Working Group would submit its recommendations to the Council at its 98th Session from 24 – 28 September 2007. The Group will hold its next meeting at the time of the 98th Session of the Council from 24 to 28 September 2007.

The Council also approved five project proposals for submission to the Common Fund for Commodities for financing:

- 1. **Development of domestic coffee markets in India, Indonesia and Mexico** (this proposal had already been approved in principle and was re-endorsed by the Council as being a project of the highest priority).
- 2. **Competitive coffee enterprises programme** (Guatemala)
- 3. Coffee network: strengthening the capacities of small coffee producers in the Dominican Republic
- 4. Development and implementation of an environmentally friendly technology for the incineration of coffee pulp in El Salvador
- 5. Building capacity for coffee certification and verification in Eastern Africa

Finally, the Council noted that the term of appointment of the Executive Director expired on 30 September 2007 and decided unanimously to renew his term of office for a further five years until 30 September 2012.