The International Coffee Council met from 25 to 29 September 2006. The Council considered proposals on the future of the International Coffee Agreement, including proposals from the Private Sector Consultative Board (PSCB) agreed at an extraordinary meeting of the PSCB on 24 September. It decided to establish a Working Group, open to all Members, which will hold its first meeting during the week commencing 22 January 2007. The Group will examine the current Agreement and proposals submitted by Members or other invited parties, with the aim of submitting its recommendations to the Council at its Session in May 2007. The Group will be chaired by Mr. Saint-Cyr Djikalou of Côte d'Ivoire, with Mr. Max Schnellmann of Switzerland as Vice-Chairman.

A CFC/ICO workshop on future priorities for coffee development projects chaired by Mrs. Josefa Sacko, Secretary-General of the InterAfrican Coffee Organization, took place on 27 September, at which Members presented their priorities on a region by region basis, with a particular emphasis on projects to promote market development.

Members considered a Brazilian proposal to create an ICO network for the promotion of coffee consumption, which will bring together participants in the world coffee industry to collaborate on ways of increasing coffee consumption in all markets, and agreed to authorize the Executive Director to appoint a specialized firm to take this forward.

Members also received reports on activities such as sustainability, coffee and health, and the ICO Coffee Quality-Improvement Programme, where steady progress is being made.

Finally, the Council welcomed the representative of Panama as the 75<sup>th</sup> Member to the Session and appointed the following office-holders for 2006/07:

**Chairman of the Council:** Mr. Mauro Orefice, Italy

1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chairman: Mr. Hiroshi Aimoto, Counsellor (Agriculture), Embassy of Japan

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairman: Mr. G.V. Krishna Rau, Chairman, Coffee Board of India

3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairman: Mr. Dewa Sastrawan, Minister Counsellor (Economic Affairs),

Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia

**Chairman of the Executive Board:** Ambassador José Angel López Camposeco, President, ANACAFE, Guatemala

**Vice-Chairman of the Board:** Mr. Ivan Romero, Charge d'Affaires, Embassy of Honduras

## **Executive Board:**

Exporting Members: Angola, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Mexico, Rwanda Vietnam Importing Members: EC (EC, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Spain), Japan, Switzerland, USA

## **Private Sector Consultative Board:**

Chairman: Mr. Christian Rasch Topke (ANACAFE, Guatemala)