The International Coffee Organization (ICO) is the main intergovernmental organization for coffee, bringing together exporting and importing Governments to tackle the challenges facing the world coffee sector through international cooperation. Its Member Governments represent 98% of world coffee production and 67% of world consumption.


Membership as

at November 2019


Exporting Members


Importing Members*

 *includes all countries in the European Union 

Click here to view a list of Member countries


The ICO’s mission is to strengthen the global coffee sector and promote its sustainable expansion in a market-based environment for the betterment of all participants in the coffee sector.

It makes a practical contribution to the development of a sustainable world coffee sector and to reducing poverty in developing countries by:

  • enabling governments and the private sector to exchange views on coffee matters, market conditions and trends, and coordinate policies at high-level meetings
  • developing and seeking finance for projects that benefit the world coffee economy
  • promoting coffee quality through a Coffee Quality-Improvement Programme
  • promoting market transparency by providing a wide range of statistics on the world coffee sector
  • developing coffee consumption and markets for coffee through innovative market development activities
  • encouraging the development of strategies to enhance the capacity of local communities and small-scale farmers
  • promoting training and information programmes to assist the transfer of technology relevant to coffee
  • facilitating information on financial tools and services to assist producers
  • providing objective and comprehensive economic, technical and scientific information on the world coffee sector.

The ICO was set up in London in 1963 under the auspices of the United Nations because of the great economic importance of coffee. It administers the International Coffee Agreement (ICA), an important instrument for development cooperation. The latest Agreement, the ICA 2007, entered into force on 2 February 2011.